Search Icon

Australian Interstate Travel Update

  • 25 Jan 2021
  • Androulla Leonida

Please see the current Australian border restrictions for doctors with links to live updates. Please check websites for updates before you travel as the COVID-19 situation can change at any time, and all border restrictions and entry requirements could change at short notice.

We are here to help our doctors navigate the safest way to their next locum. If changes occur to your current locum itinerary our team will be in contact with you directly.


There are currently no travel restrictions for NSW. 

Stay safe and stop the spread of COVID-19. Get tested even if you have the mildest of symptoms have been to these Covid-19 hotspots.

NSW Health strongly encourages people to wear face masks indoors.

If you are visiting or staying in Greater Sydney, Central Coast and Wollongong areas, certain restrictions are in place, including that it is mandatory to wear a mask indoors in certain venues, at all NSW airports and on domestic commercial flights into or out of NSW, including when the flight is landing at or taking off from the airport.

For updates see: https://www.nsw.gov.au/covid-19/latest-news-and-updates


You will need to apply for a permit to enter Victoria from anywhere in Australia. ​If you have been in:

  • a green zone, you will be able to apply for a permit and enter Victoria. Once in Victoria you should watch for symptoms and get tested should you feel unwell.​
  • an orange zone, you will be able to apply for a permit and will have to take a coronavirus (COVID-19) test within 3 days of your arrival in Victoria and isolate until you receive a negative test result.
  • a red zone, you will only be able to apply for a permit as a permitted worker, or to transit through Victoria to another state or territory. You may also apply here for an 
  • exemption Exemptions are only granted in special cases. If you try to enter Victoria by road without a valid permit, exemption or exception you will be turned away. If you attempt to enter via an airport or seaport without a valid permit, exemption or exception you will be fined $4957. Victorians will be required to quarantine at home, and others will be sent back.

For updates and information about each zone please visit: COVID-19 border entry (service.vic.gov.au)


Traveling from NSW

The following areas of New South Wales are now declared Prohibited locations:

Travellers are not permitted to travel to South Australia from the above areas unless they are an essential traveller or an exempt person.

Travellers may travel to South Australia from all areas of New South Wales outside of the above areas, but must submit to a COVID-19 test on day 1, 5 and 12.

Traveling from QLD

Effective 12:01 am 21 January 2021, travellers from the Greater Brisbane Area do not have 14 day self-quarantine upon arrival in South Australia or submit a COVID-19 test on day 1, 5 and 12.

If you entered South Australia between 12:01 am 17 January and 12:01 am 21 January 2021, you must submit a COVID-19 test on day 1, 5 and 12.

For updates, see: https://www.covid-19.sa.gov.au/restrictions-and-responsibilities/travel-restrictions


Conditions of quarantine apply to travellers coming into WA. These conditions apply to travellers arriving from a low risk state or territory. Travellers from medium risk states and territories are not permitted to enter unless exempt. EVERYONE entering WA must apply for an exemption via G2G PASS prior to travel

Traveling from NSW and QLD

You will not be able to enter WA from NSW and QLD unless you have an exemption, you can apply through G2G Pass. If permitted entry, you must self-quarantine at a suitable premise for 14 days. If a suitable premise is not available, you will be directed to a Government approved quarantine facility at your own expense.

Traveling from VIC

Travel is permitted, subject to 14 days of self-quarantine and COVID-19 testing.

Traveling from ACT TAS NT SA

  • Before travelling to WA, complete a mandatory G2G PASS registration and declaration.
  • On arrival at Perth Airport, complete a health screening.
  • Scan your G2G PASS to exit the airport.
  • Travellers from very low risk states and territories are not required to quarantine.

Travellers from a very low risk state or territory who have knowingly had contact with a person from a medium or low risk state or territory in the 14 days before travelling will be subject to the same quarantine conditions as that person from the higher risk classification and must self-quarantine for 14 days when returning to WA.

For updates see: https://www.wa.gov.au/organisation/covid-communications/covid-19-coronavirus-controlled-interstate-border


There are strict border controls in place for all arrivals to the Territory, including returning Territorians.

All arrivals to the Northern Territory (NT) must:

For Border form, see https://forms.nt.gov.au/Produce/Form/COVID19/Northern%20Territory%20Border%20Entry%20Application/

For updates, see: https://coronavirus.nt.gov.au/travel/quarantine


QLD borders are closed to any non-QLD residents who have been in one of the NSW hotspots, exemptions may be possible. 

People who have been in a hotspot in the last 14 days or since the hotspot was declared (whichever is shorter), will only be able to enter Queensland if they are a returning Queensland resident or required to enter for a limited range of essential reasons. Queensland residents returning to Queensland from a hotspot must quarantine for 14 days on entering Queensland in government arranged accommodation at their own expense.

For updates and a list of specific hotspots, see:


Check the website self-assessment tool for more information: https://www.qld.gov.au/health/conditions/health-alerts/coronavirus-covid-19/current-status/hotspots-covid-19


Public health directions are currently in place for anyone who has been in a COVID-19 affected area of New South Wales.

  • ACT residents must notify ACT Health of their intention to return.
  • Non-ACT residents cannot enter unless they have an exemption.
  • 14-day quarantine is required.
  • Details can be found on the NSW travel page.

From 2pm on Monday 11 January 2021, Greater Brisbane is no longer considered a COVID-19 affected area. For more information, visit the Queensland travel page.

If you have not been in any COVID-affected areas, you can visit the ACT.

For updates, see: https://www.covid19.act.gov.au/community/travel


Tasmania’s border entry conditions depend on where each traveller has spent time prior to their day of arrival.

Areas are assessed as either low, medium or high-risk based on Public Health advice.

Register through the Tas e-Travel system if you have only spent time in low-risk areas in the 14 days before arriving in Tasmania.

If you have spent time in medium or high-risk areas, please read the latest information below before making a G2G PASS submission.

A new Tas e-Travel registration or G2G PASS submission is required each time a person travels to Tasmania. Travellers who have only spent time in a low-risk area in the 14 days before arriving in Tasmania do not need to quarantine when they arrive.

Low-risk areas are:

  • Australian Capital Territory
  • Northern Territory
  • Queensland
  • South Australia 
  • Victoria (except high-risk premises)
  • Western Australia
  • New Zealand

People entering from low risk areas must register their travel and contact details via the Tas e-Travel system a maximum of three (3) days before arrival in Tasmania.

The COVID-19 situation can change at any time, meaning Tasmania’s border restrictions and entry requirements could change at short notice. Please stay up to date and check the latest information before travelling.

For more information see https://coronavirus.tas.gov.au/travellers-and-visitors/coming-to-tasmania